The Secretariat for European Affairs (SEA) is a special service of the Government of the Republic of Macedonia established in 2005 in order to intensify the process of integration of the Republic of Macedonia in the European Union. The main functions of the SEA are coordination and harmonization of the work of state bodies for preparation of the Republic of Macedonia for EU membership, coordination and monitoring of the implementation of the National Program for Adoption of EU Law, preparation of the Macedonian version of EU law and translation of Macedonian legislation , strengthening the institutional capacity to lead the process of European integration and informing and communicating with the public about the activities related to the process of European integration. One of the most important functions of the SEA is the coordination of development assistance from the EU, its members and other bilateral assistance related to the process of integration of the Republic of Macedonia in the EU.

The website of the Secretariat is located at


The EU Delegation to the Republic of Macedonia was opened in 2000. Following the entry into force of the Lisbon Treaty, the Delegation operates under the mandate of the EU High Representative for Foreign Affairs and Security Policy and represents the European Union in the Republic of Macedonia. The main mission of the Delegation is to be a link between the state administration bodies of the Republic of Macedonia and the EU institutions. The EU Delegation has a role to monitor and report on the complementarity of policies, processes and legislation with the EU accession process as well as to inform citizens and state institutions about the same process. The EU Delegation also has an important role in the management of EU financial assistance intended to support the reform processes in the Republic of Macedonia. The EU Delegation to the Republic of Macedonia works in close coordination with the diplomatic missions of the EU member states in the Republic of Macedonia.

Website of the EU Delegation to the Republic of Macedonia


The European Commission is the executive body of the European Union. The Commission acts as an informal government, as it prepares proposals for new European laws, manages EU policy-making activities and the spending of EU funds. The Commission is composed of 27 commissioners, one commissioner from each member state. The appointment of Commissioners, including the President of the Commission, is subject to the approval of the European Parliament, which has the power to dissolve the Commission. The Commission has the right to propose new laws to protect the interests of the EU and its citizens, and it is also responsible for checking that each Member State is properly applying EU law. The European Commission, together with the Council of the EU and Parliament, sets out the EU’s long-term priorities and financial framework. The Commission draws up the EU’s annual budget, which is subject to approval by the EU Parliament and the Council. The Commission has a key role to play in spending EU funds as it oversees state agencies and national and regional authorities. The headquarters of the European Commission are in Brussels and Luxembourg. The Commission has its offices in each EU Member State, ie delegations in the capitals of several non-EU countries.

The European Commission website is available at


The Committee of the Regions was established in 1994 and is an advisory body composed of representatives of the regional and local authorities of Europe. The members of the Committee are nominated by the Member States and have a term of four years. Although the members of the Committee are nominated by EU governments, they operate under full political independence. The Committee of the Regions has its own President who is elected by its members for a term of two years. The main role of this body is to present the views of local and regional authorities in Europe on EU legislation by giving opinions, above all, on proposals prepared by the European Commission. The headquarters of the Committee of the Regions is in Brussels and the website where its work can be followed is